Cameron Tringale Disqualified Himself From the 2014 PGA Championship Six Days After the Tournament Ended

Cameron Tringale has been disqualified from the 2014 PGA Championship six days after the tournament ended, and it was not for his performance on the course. The reason? He had a playing partner during the tournament who must have dropped him after the first round because he went into a nosedive during the second round, and ended up with a 36 on the back nine. (What the player did not know was that his playing partner had not dropped him. The playing partner was actually a rules official.)

Cameron Tringale Disqualified Himself From the 2014 PGA Championship Six Days After the Tournament Ended

In 2014, sports fans were shocked when Cameron Tringale was disqualified from the PGA Championship. The decision came six days after the tournament was over, and was cause for much debate among golf fans. While it was eventually discovered that Tringale had not violated anything in the PGA’s rules, the whole affair was very confusing. (clever description of the blog, its history or purpose, etc.)

The 2014 PGA Championship at the famed Valhalla Golf Club will forever be remembered for its bizarre ending: Rory McIlroy finished his final round in near darkness to win his second Wanamaker Trophy in three years by a stroke over Phil Mickelson. Most people don’t remember that Cameron Tringale was in 33rd place that week. What for? But the most important thing to remember is the class and integrity Tringale showed by disqualifying himself from the tournament….. SIX1 days after it ended.

Cameron Tringale was originally ranked 33rd at the 2014 PGA Championship

word-image-6315 word-image-6316 Cameron Tringale plays a shot during a practice round for the 2014 PGA Championship at Valhalla Golf Club | Jeff Moreland/Icon SMI/Corbis/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images Prior to the 2014 PGA Championship, the 26-year-old Tringale was in his fifth season on the PGA Tour and played solid golf, making 17 of 21 putts that year. After starting 2014 ranked 203rd in the world, he moved up nearly 100 places in the world rankings over the course of the year and played in his second major championship in a season for the first time in his career. Tringale has never been a true Valhalla contender, but he had a good week, playing each of the four rounds at or better than par. He shot a 69-71-71-69 and finished the tournament at 4-under, placing 33rd. Place for $53,000. Again, it wasn’t the most memorable finish, but what he did next is definitely worth noting.

Tringale has been disqualified from the 2014 PGA Championship six days after it ended

. In the final round of the 2014 PGA Championship, Tringale made a three-inch bogey putt on the par-3 11th hole as part of his 2-under 69, drew his scorecard and went home. Six days later, however, he contacted the PGA of America and asked to be disqualified from the tournament because he had doubts about his putter, which he said may have rolled off the ball before he made the stroke, which would have counted as a stroke not recorded that day, which he explained in an official statement (h/t ESPN). As I approached the hole to make a 3 inch bogey putt, the putter rushed the ball before making the putt. Realizing that there could be some doubt that the strike on the ball should have been recorded as a stroke, I spoke to the PGA of America and informed them of my conclusion that the strike should have been recorded. I regret the inconvenience this has caused the PGA of America and my fellow participants in what was a wonderful championship. Cameron Tringalee Although the tournament was officially closed, the PGA of America granted Tringale’s request, citing Rule 34.1b (III), which states that a stroke a player believes they have made but has not registered will result in disqualification. Tringale gave up his $53,000 in winnings and all players who finished below him were moved up in the final standings. That’s what we call class, ladies and gentlemen. Tringale could have kept all that money, but he chose athletics. That’s the beauty of golf. He also got the money back two weeks later and more.

In his next start,, he won more than $597,000.

. COMPARED TO: The PGA Tour’s new $40 million popularity contest After his disqualification at the PGA Championship, Tringale’s next start was the first FedEx Cup playoff event of 2014, The Barclays, where he had one of the best weeks of his career. He shot a four-day score of 66-68-72-66 at Ridgewood Country Club and finished second by 12 strokes, just two strokes behind winner Hunter Mahan. He earned $597,333 and entered the top 100 of the official world golf rankings for the first time, rising from 114th to 71st. Talk about good karma coming back soon. statistics courtesy of

pga championship 2020pga schedule,People also search for,Privacy settings,How Search works,pga championship 2020,pga schedule

Related articles


Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.